Confessions of a food hoarder. 

Hi my name is Ivy and I’m a food hoarder. I buy in bulk, I buy things I don’t need or know what to do with and I have cupboard stuffed full of stuff that’s long been forgotten. 

I really want to change that so we have more space in the kitchen and so that we don’t end up wasting food because it’s years out of date by the time I remember it. 

I’m not going to tackle everything at once, instead I’m going to focus on one cupboard at a time until everything is used up, thinned out or organise. 

The first cupboard to tackle is lentils, grains and pulses.
It a total mess in there, I can’t see what I’ve got, stuff falls out… there is even pasta slapped on top.  What’s actually in there?!?!?

So we’ve got – 

  • Spelt
  • Rye
  • Frekeh 
  • Giant cous cous
  • Pearl Barley
  • Moong dal
  • Red lentils
  • Green lentils
  • Oats 
  • Soy steaks 
  • Polenta

Some of them I use on a regular basis so they get a fresh jar and go back in the cupboard. 


Now I just need to decide what to do with the rest. Its a great excuse to try something new and to read more cool books. 


As and when I make things I’ll post pictures and recipes. 

What would you cook with this? 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Hahah i can so relate! I have been using my oats by making overnight oats. Lentils I chucked into a fennel and grapefruit salad 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh that salad sounds lovely!

      I use oats a lot, my husband has them for breakfast at work and I like to use them in my banana bread or in an upma.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

