Setting intentions for the year ahead. 

Rather than New Years Resolutions which undoubtedly will be forgotten and broken within weeks of 2017 starting I like to set an intention for the year ahead.

What do I mean by intention? 

It’s a positive goal or focus.

For example instead of ‘I’m going to stop being so fat and unhealthy’ a better way to look at it is ‘I’m going to focus on having a healthier lifestyle’ 

If you start with a negative goal your already putting yourself down. By looking at it a positive way it makes it easier to succeed.

An intention is set with a view to evolve.

If your goal is set in stone it makes it harder to achieve. Going back to the precious example being more ‘healthy’ could mean starting off by cutting out that super sugary Starbucks on the way to work and having a cup of fruit tea instead. Once that becomes a habit you’ll then want to move into the next thing and the next thing. All these little actions fall under the heading of ‘be healthier’ and also add up to a much bigger change.

What are my intentions for 2017 

  1. Improve my physical health.
  2. Have a healthier diet.
  3. Explore more.
  4. Be mindful.

Ok these are pretty ambiguous but it gives me the scope to do a lot of things and to make some really positive changes.

What are your intentions for the new year?

Let’s do this! 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. plumesworld says:

    I need to do my own 2017 goals post but mine focus around being more politically active and socially responsible

    Like

    1. Those are good intentions to have given everything that’s happened in 2016.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I like yours! Mine is to continue my focus on health, fitness and flexibility. And to compete in Muay Thai.

    Like

    1. Thank you. Your smashing the Muay Thai, I can see you hitting that goal for sure.

      Flexibility is on my list and it’s getting there. Starting to see results from yoga is always encouraging

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Definitely! I’m using it to help with my flexibility, which is pretty poor right now!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Dimi Jani says:

    Great intentions! I’ve chosen to ditch resolutions in place of intentions this year as well and just wrote a post on it recently! I’ve made an intention to be 1% more curious than I am fearful this year 🙂 Good luck with your intentions for the year!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

