Pierogi

After learning how to make traditional Pierogi from my friend Peter I’ve been playing about with fillings. In the video we used sauerkraut, violife cheese, mashed potato and finely chopped mushrooms.

This time I went for what I needed to use up in the fridge – potato, carrot, butternut squash, leek, spring onion, home made sauerkraut and violife cheese. I like the idea of having more colour and more vegetables in the mix and they came out so well. Pierogi are so versatile you can put so many different things in them.

On the side we had onion and chard cooked in apple and a beetroot salad. I’m a huge beetroot fan so might just skip the side salad and put it in the Pierogi instead!

Leave a Reply

