A leap of faith

Today I did something no one was expecting, not even myself. I quit my job.

I started working in a call centre nearly 5 years ago. When I started it was just before Christmas and I was desperate for a job… any job. I was grateful to have an income and at the time the company treated us all like people. I got the time off I needed, it paid the bills, it even paid for repeated trips and holidays. How can I complain about that?

We’re now 4.5 years down the line, as with all big companies it’s now profit over people. All their interested in is getting as much out of their employees as possible and they have well and truly wrung out every single drop from me. I just can’t do this anymore, I can’t face it.

I’m surrounded by inspiring people who have taken a leap of faith so that they can live a more enriched life, a life filled with joy and positivity. They have inspired me to take a giant leap of faith into the unknown.

I’ve always been someone to take time with a decision but once my mind is made up there is no going back and today that decision was made. I can’t work somewhere that makes me so unhappy, I can’t work somewhere that I’m so ashamed of I try not to admit which company it actually is. A place that under the corporate surface tries to justify some terrible things and thinks it’s perfectly OK to chew up and spit out people all over the world while damaging the environment at the same time. I’m not OK being part of that.

Being in this environment for so long had me stuck in a rut. The best way to describe it I’ve found so far was ‘it’s like an emotionally abusive partner, they make you believe no one else will want you, there’s nothing else out there and your lucky to have them’ I genuinely believed there was nothing else out there for me and that I would spend the rest of my working life doing the exact same job week in week out.

It’s done now though, my notice has been handed in and I’ve got 4 weeks until I’m unemployed. I’ve nothing concrete to move onto, I’m scared stiff but at the same time I feel so free and excited for what the future holds.Everything will be OK

Interestingly all my colleagues were so happy for me and have been incredibly positive and supportive. My manager on the other hand is the only person so far that has been remotely negative about things with lots of ‘are you sure?’ and ‘doesn’t that worry you?’. I’m incredibly fortunate to have so many friends that believe in me and a husband that couldn’t be more supportive if he tried. I don’t believe in myself 100% yet but the faith in me is rubbish off from other people and I’m already a step further forward than I was this morning.

We must move forward, not backward; upward, not forward; and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

